Today may be David Bowie's 66th birthday, but it's his fans who are getting the gifts.

The legendary extraterrestrial made official this morning on his website what had been rumored for years: A brand new studio album — his 30th overall — will be released March 12th in the US and a day earlier everywhere else (except Australia, which gets it on March 8th).

Produced by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti (think Space Oddity), Bowie's first outing in a decade is called The Next Day, and is available for pre-order right now through iTunes.

To whet neurons for his return to music, Bowie today unveiled the LP's first single, "Where Are We Now?," which comes complete with a new music video directed by multimedia artist Tony Oursler.

"Throwing shadows and avoiding the industry treadmill is very David Bowie despite his extraordinary track record that includes album sales in excess of 130m," said Bowie's label, Columbia, in a statement. "Not to mention his massive contributions in the area of art, fashion, style, sexual exploration, and social commentary."

A complete track list follows:

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine's Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I'd Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

Bonus tracks:

15. So She
16. I'll Take You There
17. Plan

[cover art via]