Friday, Congress finally approved a $9.7 billion package to pay flood insurance claims from Hurricane Sandy. The measure was supposed to come to a vote earlier in the week, but was tabled by House Speaker John Boehner, drawing much criticism from both Democrats and his fellow Republicans alike.

The measure passed unanimously through the Senate, but 67 members of the House of Representatives voted "no" to assisting people who were left, at best, powerless or homeless by a hurricane in November. All 67 are Republicans:

  • Justin Amash (R-MI)
  • Andy Barr (R-KY)
  • Dan Benishek (R-MI)
  • Kerry Bentivolio (R-MI)
  • Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
  • Jim Bridenstine (R-OK)
  • Mo Brooks (R-AL)
  • Paul Broun (R-GA)
  • Steve Chabot (R-OH)
  • Doug Collins (R-GA)
  • Mike Conaway (R-TX)
  • Tom Cotton (R-AR)
  • Steve Daines (R-MT)
  • Ron DeSantis (R-FL)
  • Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)
  • Sean Duffy (R-WI)
  • Jeff Duncan (R-SC)
  • Jimmy Duncan (R-TN)
  • Stephen Fincher (R-TN)
  • John Fleming (R-LA)
  • Bill Flores (R-TX)
  • Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
  • Trent Franks (R-AZ)
  • Louie Gohmert (R-TX)
  • Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
  • Paul Gosar (R-AZ)
  • Trey Gowdy (R-SC)
  • Tom Graves (R-GA)
  • Sam Graves (R-MO)
  • Andrew Harris (R-MD)
  • George Holding (R-NC)
  • Richard Hudson (R-NC)
  • Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)
  • Randy Hultgren (R-IL)
  • Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)
  • Jim Jordan (R-OH)
  • Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
  • Thomas Massie (R-KY)
  • Tom McClintock (R-CA)
  • Mark Meadows (R-NC)
  • Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
  • Mick Mulvaney (R-SC)
  • Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)
  • Steven Palazzo (R-MS)
  • Steve Pearce (R-NM)
  • Scott Perry (R-PA)
  • Tom Petri (R-WI)
  • Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
  • Tom Price (R-GA)
  • Phil Roe (R-TN)
  • Todd Rokita (R-IN)
  • Keith Rothfus (R-PA)
  • Ed Royce (R-CA)
  • Paul Ryan (R-WI)
  • Matt Salmon (R-AZ)
  • David Schweikert (R-AZ)
  • Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
  • Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)
  • Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
  • Randy Weber (R-TX)
  • Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
  • Roger Williams (R-TX)
  • Joe Wilson (R-SC)
  • Rob Woodall (R-GA)
  • Kevin Yoder (R-KS)
  • Ted Yoho (R-FL)

The most high-profile Congressman on the list is Paul Ryan, failed vice presidential nominee. It also includes Mo Brooks, Ted Yoho, Ron DeSantis, Steven Palazzo and John Fleming from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi, all of which are states that received much-needed federal aid following Hurricane Katrina, the only hurricane in American history that was more costly than Sandy. Speaker Boehner did not vote.

This list also includes the entire Republican representation from Arizona, Kansas, Maryland, Montana and New Mexico (Maryland, Montana and New Mexico are only represented by one Republican each).

While it took Congress more than two months to approve any federal aid for Sandy victims, it took just 10 days after Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

This aid package is only, however, the tip of the iceberg, as Congress will take another vote on an additional $51 billion aid package on January 15. In a joint statement, New York and New Jersey governors Andrew Cuomo and Chris Christie called the $9.7 billion a good start:

"Today's action by the House was a necessary and critical first step towards delivering aid to the people of New Jersey and New York. While we are pleased with this progress, today was just a down payment and it is now time to go even further and pass the final and more complete, clean disaster aid bill. We are trusting Congress to act accordingly on January 15th and pass the final $51 billion instrumental for long-term rebuilding in order for New Jersey, New York and our people to recover after the severe devastation of Hurricane Sandy."

[Image via Getty]