This image was lost some time after publication.

The James Beard Awards were held at Avery Fisher Hall last night, gifting Jean-Georges Vongerichten's eponymous flagship the title of "Outstanding Restaurant." Other notable winners included David Chang's Momofuko Ko (Best New Restaurant) and opulent dinosaur Daniel (Best Service), with Drew Nieporent (left) knighted Outstanding Restaurateur for his (apparently outstanding) work at Corton and Nobu. But, much like the Costume Institute Gala across town, the night was not without a bit of drama.

During the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award, the New York Times's Diners' Journal blog announced the winners of all major categories before the awards had even been presented, much to the chagrin of anxious food bloggers everywhere. Other earth-shattering mishaps? Michael Pollan, high-profile posterboy of the slow food movement, was a no-show. Thankfully, Mario Batali's ubiquitous orange Crocs were unharmed, though.

James Beard Award Winners Are Named [NYT]
James Beard Awards 2009: Blow-by-blow [Metromix]